Into the Innovation Era

SXSW, Vertical Farms, and GPT-4

Hello! Happy Tuesday. I just came back down to Earth after traveling to the fast-paced dimension of Austin, Texas to attend South by Southwest (SXSW) as a video journalist.

My first time in Austin, Texas not only made me walk away with a new perspective on the power of innovation (more on that below) but also awakened the cowboy within me that I never knew was there all along. 🤠 

SXSW Recap: Into the Innovation Era

When I landed in Austin, Texas, I knew I was stepping into a new city for the first time. What I didn’t know was the extent to which I was also stepping into a new world. One fueled by innovation, unapologetic ambition, and endless possibilities.

It was my first time at SXSW, the annual conglomeration of film, music, art, tech, conferences, and more that attracts hundreds of thousands of attendees from across the globe. I was invited by Aleyna Dogan, founder of the NFTimes and COO of Ginoa.io to serve as a journalist. Here, I covered the leading edge of art, technology, and immersive storytelling.

Over the course of 4 days, Aleyna and I interviewed CEOs, artists, metaverse whisperers, entrepreneurs, and more. We covered groundbreaking panels, saw the hottest VR experiences, and got selfies with celebrities. In short, I’d say my first SXSW was a success.

Is Verticle Farming the Future of Agriculture?

“We’re moving into an age where climate change is changing what we grow and how we grow it,” said Nate Storey, Plenty’s co-founder and chief science officer. “Ultimately, I think we’re future-proofing agriculture for our species.”

With the world’s population expected to reach nearly 10 billion by 2050, most of whom will be living in cities, experts say it will require a 70% increase from current levels of global food production. But with agricultural land in short supply thanks to climate crisis and urbanization, it’s clear today’s food systems are not ready.

Designed to produce yields hundreds of times larger than traditional outdoor farming, vertical farms occupy spaces such as buildings or shipping containers while using 70 to 95% less water since they can recapture and recycle water rather than waste it due to poor irrigation or evaporation.

The Rise of GPT-4

OpenAI has finally unveiled GPT-4, a next-generation large language model that was rumored to be in development for much of last year. The San Francisco-based company's last surprise hit, ChatGPT, was always going to be a hard act to follow, but OpenAI has made GPT-4 even bigger and better.

It also outperforms ChatGPT on human tests, including the Uniform Bar Exam (where GPT-4 ranks in the 90th percentile and ChatGPT ranks in the 10th) and the Biology Olympiad (where GPT-4 ranks in the 99th percentile and ChatGPT ranks in the 31st).

OpenAI says it spent six months making GPT-4 safer and more accurate. According to the company, GPT-4 is 82% less likely than GPT-3.5 to respond to requests for content that OpenAI does not allow, and 60% less likely to make stuff up.

Was this email forwarded to you? Subscribe here đźš€